WDS 2023



The Fédération Cynologique Internationale is the World Canine Organisation. It includes 98 members and contract partners (one member per country) that each issue their own pedigrees and train their own judges.

The FCI has three sections: Europe. The Americas & Caribbean as well as Asia, Africa & Oceania. The FCI recognises 356 breeds. Each of them is the ‘property’ of a specific country. The ‘owner’ countries of the breeds write the standard of these breeds (detailed description of the ideal type of the breed), in co-operation with the Standards and Scientific Commissions of the FCI. The translation, updating and publication  of the standards are carried out by the FCI. These standards are THE reference for the judges at shows held in the FCI member countries, but also for the breeders in their attempt to produce top-quality dogs.

Visit the FCI:


Show schedules:

FCI Show regulations:

FCI International Championship regulations:

FCI Show Judges regulations:

FCI Junior Handling regulations:

FCI Groups
Overview of the 10 FCI Groups

FCI Group 1 – Sheepdogs and Cattledogs expect Swiss Cattledogs

FCI Group 2 – Pinscher and Schnauzer, Molossoid and Swiss-Mountain and Cattledogs:

FCI Group 3 - Terriers:

FCI Group 4 - Dachshunds:

FCI Group 5 – Spitz and primitive types:

FCI Group 6 – Scent hounds and related breeds:

FCI Group 7 – Pointing dogs:

FCI Group 8 – Retrievers, flushing dogs and water dogs:

FCI Group 9- Companion and toy dogs:

FCI Group 10 - Sighthounds: